main

Certificate

Specialist Certificate in Palliative Care

    What will I study?

    Overview

    Delivered by experts in their fields drawn from multiple institutions around Victoria, this course will introduce you to the theoretical knowledge and advances that underpin palliative care management, and equip you to put this knowledge into practice.

    In this course, you will explore the core concepts related to palliative care, including:

    • Symptom management
    • Communication skills
    • Evidence-based practice
    • Non-malignant and malignant palliative care illnesses
    • Psychosocial issues
    • The role of the family caregiver.

    As well as the core subject Fundamentals of Palliative Care, you will undertake one elective subject, from options including Adult Palliative Care, Psychosocial Aspects of Palliative Care, Paediatric Palliative Care, Ethics in Clinical Practice and Contemporary Approaches to Bereavement.

    Course structure

    As a formal award of the University of Melbourne, the course offers 25 points of training at graduate level, delivered as two standard 12.5 point subjects requiring 4 days of face-to-face teaching each, with additional online learning. Students are required to complete the two 12.5 credit point subjects within a 12 month period.

    Workload

    Each subject is taught over four intensive teaching days, with additional assessments to be completed outside of class time. Students should expect to commit 170 hours per 12.5 credit point subject.

    Note: The communications experiential component for Fundamentals of Palliative Care is planned for October 30th 2020 at Graduate House.

    Teaching dates (2020)

    Fundamentals of Palliative Care
    Essentials
    Day one Thursday 13 February 2020
    Day two Friday 14 February 2020
    Therapeutics
    Day one Thursday 16 April 2020
    Day two Friday 17 April 2020        
    Adult Palliative Care
    Day one: Pain Thursday 16 July 2020
    Day two: Symptoms Friday 17 July 2020
    Day three: Non-malignant Thursday 10 September 2020
    Day four: FCPC Friday 11 September 2020
    Paediatric Palliative Care
    Day one (online) Tuesday 14 July 2020
    Day two (online) Monday 27 July 2020
    Day three (online) Tuesday 18 August 2020
    Day four (online) Monday 7 September 2020
    Day five Thursday 17 September 2020
    Day six Friday 18 September 2020
    Contemporary Approaches to Bereavement
    Day one Thursday 20 February 2020
    Day two Friday 21 February 2020
    Day three Thursday 16 April 2020
    Day four Friday 17 April 2020
    Psychosocial Aspects of Palliative Care
    Day one Thursday 20 August 2020
    Day two Friday 21 August 2020
    Day three Monday 24 August 2020
    Day four Tuesday 25 August 2020
    Ethics in Clinical Practice
    Day one Thursday 6 August 2020
    Day two Friday 7 August 2020
    Day three Monday 10 August 2020
    Day four Tuesday 11 August 2020

    Explore this course

    Explore the subjects you could choose as part of this certificate.

    Showing subjects for:
    0 options available