What will I study?


    Learn about aspects of behaviour such as human motivation and emotion, decision-making processes and social interaction.

    Areas of study include  cognitive psychology, developmental psychology, sensation and perception, and social psychology.

    Your major structure

    You can study this major through the Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Biomedicine or the Bachelor of Arts. It is taught identically in the three degrees.

    Different sequences are available:

    • a 125-point major sequence accredited by the Australian Psychology Accreditation Council (APAC) (available in the Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Arts, and Bachelor of Biomedicine)
    • non-accredited sequences (75-point minor sequence in the Bachelor of Arts or 50-point major sequence in the Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Biomedicine).

    If you aim to work as a registered psychologist in Australia, complete the 125-point accredited major. Then, after further study, you can become an accredited psychologist.

    To complete the accredited major you will complete 10 subjects overall: 2 at first-year level, 4 at second-year level, and 4 at third-year level. Two of these will be taken as breadth subjects.

    Throughout your degree you will also take science or arts elective subjects and breadth subjects (subjects outside of your degree), in addition to your major subjects.

    Sample course plan

    View some sample course plans to help you select subjects that will meet the requirements for this major.

    Showing sample course plan:

    Explore this major

    Explore the subjects you could choose as part of this major.

    2 options available
    An APAC accredited Psychology Major sequence is a prerequisite if you wish to undertake further study to become a practising psychologist. A three-year accredited psychology sequence requires at least 125 credit points worth of undergraduate Psychology subjects, which includes the BSc Psychology major. The APAC accredited major requires you to complete eight compulsory subjects (two at Level 1; four at Level 2; two at Level 3) and at least two elective Psychology subjects at Level 3. All subjects are worth 12.5 points.