Important dates

SemesterExchange DeadlineStudy Abroad Deadline
Semester 1 (February-July) 1 November of the previous year 1 December of the previous year
Semester 2 (July-December) 1 April 1 May

Students are advised to apply as early as possible to avoid delays in receiving the documents necessary to apply for an Australian student visa. Late applications may be accepted in special circumstances with permission.

Semester 1, 2019 (FEBRUARY - JUNE)
Study Abroad and Exchange Briefing Day: Friday 22 February (compulsory)
University Orientation: Monday 18 February - Friday 1 March

Semester 2, 2019 (JULY - NOVEMBER)
Study Abroad and Exchange Briefing Day: Friday 19 July (compulsory)
University Orientation: Wednesday 15 July - Friday 26

Semester 1, 2019
Semester 1 teaching period: Monday 4 March - Sunday 2 June
Non-teaching period: Friday 19 April - Sunday 28 April
Semester 1 Exam Period: Monday 3 June - Friday 28 June**

Semester 2, 2019
Semester 2 teaching period: Monday 29 July - Sunday 27 October
Non-teaching period: Monday 30 September - Sunday 6 October
Semester 2 Exam Period: Monday 28 October - Friday 22 November

** Please note that ALL Study Abroad and Exchange students should plan to be in Melbourne until they complete all required assessment items. In the unlikely event that you are offered a special exam due to extenuating circumstances such as medical illness, you may be offered to re-sit the exam during the University's supplementary exam period. The supplementary exam period dates can be found here. If you have been offered a supplementary exam, University policy requires students to be available to attend the examination in Melbourne. Note, the University of Melbourne does not make exceptions for students to sit exams at home invigiliated.

University Principal Dates

Semester 1, 2019
Applications open: 10 October 2018
Applications close: 10 December 2018
Move-in date: Late February (Please note your residential college will advise you directly of the move-in date.)*

Semester 2, 2019
Applications open: 10 March, 2019
Applications close: 10 May, 2019
Move-in date: Late July (Please note your residential college will advise you directly of the move-in date.)*

* Earlier move-in dates can be arranged directly with the residential college once you have accepted a place.

When should I arrive?

You must be in Melbourne ready to attend Briefing Day . If you can't make it to Briefing Day, you must seek prior approval to arrive late. You must contact our office via studyabroad-exchange@unimelb.edu.au to advise of your difficulties and request permission to arrive late.

Please note: Late arrival is not always approved, and if you cannot arrive before semester starts, you may be asked to defer your study to the following semester.

If your late arrival is approved, you will need to make arrangements to meet with an Education Abroad Advisor when you arrive.