Undergraduate and Graduate

Semester Exchange Deadline Study Abroad Deadline
Semester 1 (February-July) 1 November of the previous year 1 December of the previous year
Semester 2 (July-December) 1 April 1 May  

Late applications may be accepted in special circumstances with permission.

Research

Research students can commence their visit at any time during the year. Students are advised to apply as early as possible (at least 12 weeks in advance of the commencement date) to avoid delays in receiving the documents necessary to apply for an Australian student visa.

Semester 1, 2021 (FEBRUARY - JUNE)
Study Abroad and Exchange Welcome Day: Friday 19 February (compulsory)
University Orientation: Monday 22 February - Friday 26 February

Semester 2, 2021 (JULY - NOVEMBER)
Study Abroad and Exchange Welcome Day: Friday 16 July (compulsory)
University Orientation: Monday 19 July - Friday 23 July

Semester 2, 2020 (for continuing or extending students only)
Semester 2 teaching period: Monday 3 August - Sunday 1 November
Non-teaching period: Monday 5 October - Sunday 11 October
Semester 2 Exam Period: Monday 9 November - Friday 27 November*

Semester 1, 2021
Semester 1 teaching period: Monday 1 March - Sunday 30 May
Non-teaching period: Friday 2 April - Sunday 11 April
Semester 1 Exam Period: Tuesday 7 June - Friday 25 June*

Semester 2, 2021
Semester 2 teaching period: Monday 26 July - Sunday 24 October
Non-teaching period: Monday 27 September - Sunday 3 October
Semester 2 Exam Period: Monday 1 November - Friday 19 November*

* Please note that ALL Study Abroad and Exchange students should plan to be in Melbourne until they complete all required assessment items. In the unlikely event that you are offered a special exam due to extenuating circumstances such as medical illness, you may be offered to re-sit the exam during the University's supplementary exam period. If you have been offered a supplementary exam, University policy requires students to be available to attend the examination in Melbourne. Note, the University of Melbourne does not make exceptions for students to sit exams at home invigilated.

University principal dates and exam period dates

There are no deadlines for housing applications. Applications close when allocation has been reached. Students are encouraged to apply as early as possible for housing to allow enough time to find suitable accommodation.

Explore University Accommodation options

If you are interested in staying at a residential college, you need to apply separately through the college application process.

You must be in Melbourne ready to attend Welcome Day . If you can't make it to Welcome Day, you must seek prior approval to arrive late. You must contact our office via studyabroad-exchange@unimelb.edu.au to advise of your difficulties and request permission to arrive late.

Please note: Late arrival is not always approved, and if you cannot arrive before semester starts, you may be asked to defer your study to the following semester.

If your late arrival is approved, you will need to make arrangements to meet with an Education Abroad Advisor when you arrive.