Semester Exchange Deadline Study Abroad Deadline
Semester 1 (February-July) 1 November of the previous year 1 December of the previous year
Semester 2 (July-December) 1 April 1 May

Students are advised to apply as early as possible to avoid delays in receiving the documents necessary to apply for an Australian student visa. Late applications may be accepted in special circumstances with permission.

Semester 1, 2020 (FEBRUARY - JUNE)
Study Abroad and Exchange Welcome Day: Friday 21 February (compulsory)
University Orientation: Monday 17 February - Friday 28 February

Semester 2, 2020 (JULY - NOVEMBER)
Study Abroad and Exchange Welcome Day: Friday 17 July (compulsory)
University Orientation: Monday 13 July - Friday 24 July

Semester 1, 2020
Semester 1 teaching period: Monday 2 March - Sunday 31 May
Non-teaching period: Friday 10 April - Sunday 19 April
Semester 1 Exam Period: Tuesday 9 June - Friday 26 June**

Semester 2, 2020
Semester 2 teaching period: Monday 27 July - Sunday 25 October
Non-teaching period: Monday 28 September - Sunday 4 October
Semester 2 Exam Period: Monday 2 November - Friday 20 November**

** Please note that ALL Study Abroad and Exchange students should plan to be in Melbourne until they complete all required assessment items. In the unlikely event that you are offered a special exam due to extenuating circumstances such as medical illness, you may be offered to re-sit the exam during the University's supplementary exam period. If you have been offered a supplementary exam, University policy requires students to be available to attend the examination in Melbourne. Note, the University of Melbourne does not make exceptions for students to sit exams at home invigilated.

University principal dates and exam period dates

There are no deadlines for housing applications. Applications close when allocation has been reached. Students are encouraged to apply as early as possible for housing to allow enough time to find suitable accommodation.

Explore University Accommodation options

If you are interested in staying at a residential college, you need to apply separately through the college application process.