main

Coursework

Master of Surgical Education

      What will I study?

      Overview

      Participants can access a range of delivery modes, increasing program flexibility essential for busy professionals undertaking studies in conjunction with clinical commitments. The program content reflects critical issues in the broader education community together with specific challenges for surgical education.

      The program is delivered part-time, with students expected to enrol in 2 subjects each semester. However, it is possible to undertake just one subject per semester. All subjects (with the exception of the Minor Thesis) will be taught using multiple delivery modes. This will include one full day (8 hours) workshop plus self-paced learning activities (e.g. webinars, moderated interactive discussions, and tutorials) spread over 13-week semesters. The self-paced learning activities will be accessed through an online learning management system. Students should expect to commit approximately 8 - 10 hours per week to each subject. This includes formal learning activities, reading and private study.

      Teaching Intensive Dates

      Semester One, 2019
      Subject Subject Code Teaching Dates
      Context in Surgical Education MEDS90006 Monday 11 February 2019
      Learning and Teaching in Surgical Practice MEDS90007 Tuesday 12 February 2019
      Minor Thesis Part 1 MEDS90029 Wednesday 13 February 2019
      Recruitment and Selection in Surgery MEDS90012 Thursday 14 February 2019
      Managing Underperforming Trainees MEDS90014 Friday 15 February 2019
      Teaching Surgical Science MEDS90016 Monday 18 February 2019
      Semester Two, 2019
      Subject Subject Code Teaching Dates
      Educational Theory for Surgical Training MEDS90008 Monday 5 August 2019
      Curriculum Design in Surgical Education MEDS90009 Tuesday 6 August 2019
      Minor Thesis Part 2 MEDS90030 Wednesday 7 August 2019
      Research Methods in Surgical Education MEDS90011 Thursday 8 August 2019
      Educational Leadership in Surgery MEDS90017 Friday 9 August 2019
      Assessment and Evaluation in Surgery MEDS90018 Monday 12 August 2019

      Explore this course

      Explore the subjects you could choose as part of this degree.